October 18 Elections RESULTS

Please note that the following elections (for Irma residents ONLY) will take place on October 18th from 10am to 8pm in Irma:

  • Municipal Elections – Irma Horizon’s
  • Senate Elections and Referendum – Irma Horizon’s

Below you will see the ballot for the senate and referendum and below that the candidates for the municipal elections – 3 separate ballots will be issued on the day so keep track and listen to the election officials – NO abuse or impatience will be toleratedpeople will NOT be allowed to line up inside the Horizon’s and you MUST wear a mask at all times.

  • The School Board Elections (for Irma residents) and The School Board Elections and Senate and Referendum Elections for MD residents will take place SEPERATELY at the Elk’s Hall during the same time and day.

Due to Covid and venue size and the amount of separate voting issues not all elections will take place in the same venue.

We appreciate your understanding and cooperation as well as patience, and thank you in advance.



Ballots Senate and Referendum 2021

Erika Barootes Conservative 84 ELECTED Senate
Pam Davidson Conservative 87 ELECTED Senate
Mykhailo Martyniouk Conservative 58 ELECTED Senate
Equalization (Remove from Constitution)
YES 145 NO 20
Daylight Savings Time (Adopt Year Round DST Summer Hours)
YES 100 NO 68


Village of Irma Election Official Result 2021

Candidates 2021

  • FIRKUS, Mervin = 149 ELECTED
  • GREEN, Joan = 44
  • JONES, Leonard = 90
  • LANGLEY, Richard = 30
  • MACDONALD, David George = 17
  • NISSEN, Eric = 95  ELECTED
  • PARSONS, Brandon = 155 ELECTED
  • SCHUBADA, James (Jim) = 119 ELECTED
  • SOUCY, Michael = 168 ELECTED


Election Forms and Updates



Form 1-7 SIGNED

Notice of Election

Notice of Advance Poll


Notice of Nomination Period

Local Authority Elections Act Sec 26


Nomination Hours

The Returning Officer or designate will receive nominations of candidates for the local jurisdiction election (by appointment) during regular business hours of 9 am to 3 pm Mondays to Fridays from January 4, 2021 to September 17, 2021 AND September 20, 2021 from 8.30 am until noon, at 4919 50th Street, Irma Alberta – the Municipal Office.


Councillors = FIVE (5) Vacancies

The office of Mayor and Deputy Mayor will be determined at the first Organizational Meeting after the election.

Location of Local Jurisdiction Office

4919 – 50th Street, Irma Alberta – The Municipal Office

dated at the Village of Irma July 28th 2021.

CAO/Returning Officer Rudolf Liebenberg

COVID restrictions: Nominees are required to call 780.754.3665/text 780.806.6973 (cell) or email cao@irma.ca and book an appointment to drop off or pick up anything related to this municipal election.

Election Day: 18 October 2021 from 10 am to 8 pm (New Horizon Centre Drop in 50th Street)

Advance Poll: 4 October 2021 from 9am to 1pm (New Horizon Centre Drop in 50th Street)


RE: Municipal Elections 18th October 2021

To Whom It May Concern,

Please note that if it is your intent to run for municipal office in the upcoming municipal elections taking place 18th October 2021 that you will have to submit new nomination papers, regardless of whether you submitted by-election papers in April 2020.  All Alberta municipal elections 2021 related information can be found on the following website:  https://www.alberta.ca/municipal-election-forms.aspx

The Village of Irma has posted related information on their website on the welcome page.  Please note that recent changes in the Local Authority Elections Act (January 1st, 2021) allows nomination papers to be submitted from January 4th 2021 to September 17th & on Monday September 20th 8.30am to noon.  Office hours will and some Covid-19 regulations may apply.  If you have any further questions please contact us at the following email cao@irma.ca

PLEASE NOTE that this summary is not intended to replace the candidate’s responsibility to read and understand the legislation, or to seek appropriate advice from professionals as required. Any candidate is responsible for ensuring that their campaign complies with all official statutes and regulations.

Best Regards,


Village of Irma



Nomination Period Opened

  • January 1, 2021 

Nomination Period Closes

  • September 20, 2021, 12 pm (noon)

Withdrawal Period

  • September 20-21, 2021,  noon to noon

Advance Votes: held at Horizon Drop In Centre

  • October 4, 2021, 9am – 1 pm

Election Day: vote to be held at the Horizon Drop In Centre, 50tn Street right next to Municipal/Village Office

  • October 18, 2021 (10 am to 8 pm)

Official Results Released

  • October 22, 2021

Swearing In Ceremony & Organizational Meeting

  • October 26, 2021 at 7 pm

Campaign Disclosure filing date

  • March 1, 2022


BY-Election 2020

Due to COVID-19 the Municipal By-election was postponed in April 2020.  The Village of Irma was granted an extension by Ministerial Order MSD: 021/20 that extended the time-frame for the by-election.  The Village of Irma now can wait until the next regular election in 2021.  A extension of 21 months was granted.  Council decided at the October 13th Council Meeting not to proceed with a By-election and wait until October 2021 elections.  Given the current health climate, costs and time frames  this is a prudent decision that saves the ratepayer money and still ensures open government.   Contact the office via email at cao@irma.ca if you have any questions.

Below is the Ministerial Order from Municipal Affairs.